National Register of Historic Places
Edmond, Oklahoma County
Edmond is a city that proudly boasts a rich and colorful past, evidenced through the historic sites that have been preserved to this day. Our city was built by cattle drives, a train station, and settled through an energetic land run. Appreciation of this heritage is readily seen by the numerous historic buildings and plaques exhibited on those buildings dispersed throughout the community. Much of this information has been provided courtesy of the Edmond Historical Society & Museum.
Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1993, the post was built as a WPA project in 1936. It is named the Frank H. Collings Post in honor of the first Edmond resident killed during combat in World War I.
The original location of Citizens Bank, 102 S. Broadway, was place on the National Register in 1980. The bank relocated to 1 E. 1st in 1914.
The historical society and museum is housed in the former Edmond Armory building, constructed as a WPA project in 1936 and added to the national register in 1991.
The Edmond Ice Company complex is located at 101-109 West Second Street, just west of the
City of Edmond's downtown core and the railroad tracks and was placed on the register in 2016.
John & Ophelia Gower relinquished a portion of their 160 acre homestead to establish the Gower Cemetery in November 1889. The cemetery was historically significant for its association with the African American Settlers who lived in the area of their original homestead.
The large Kivlehen House was completed in 1910. In 2008, it was restored to its former glory and added to the National Register of Historic Places. The house is now home to 525 Realty Group.
Opened in 1893 and added to the national register in 1971, Old North was the first higher education building in the Territory, becoming the foundation of the University of Central Oklahoma.
The Y Chapel of Song, located on the University of Central Oklahoma campus, is unique among college chapels in that it was almost entirely designed and created by the students, faculty, staff, and friends of the University, placed on the national registry in 2001.